Disney Wiki
Advertisement

Disney California Adventure est le second parc à thème de Disneyland Resort à Anaheim, en Californie, situé en face de Disneyland. Le parc a ouvert le 8 février 2001.

Dédicaces

Dédicace original

«  À tous ceux qui croient au pouvoir des rêves, bienvenue. Disney's California Adventure vous ouvre ses portes d'or. Nous rendons ici hommage aux rêveurs du passé: les autochtones, les explorateurs, les immigrants, les aviateurs, les entrepreneurs et les artistes qui ont construit le Golden State. Et nous saluons une nouvelle génération de rêveurs qui créent les merveilles de demain, du grand écran à l'écran d'ordinateur, des terres agricoles fertiles aux confins de l'espace. Disney's California Adventure célèbre la richesse et la diversité de la Californie... sa terre, ses habitants, son esprit et, surtout, les rêves qu'elle continue d'inspirer.  »

— Micheal Eisner, le 8 février 2001

Redédicace

«  À tous ceux qui viennent dans ce lieu de rêve, bienvenue. Disney California Adventure célèbre l'esprit d'optimisme et la promesse d'opportunités infinies, enflammés par l'imagination de rêveurs audacieux tels que Walt Disney et ceux qui, comme lui, ont changé à jamais - et ont été changés à jamais par - le Golden State. Ce lieu unique englobe la richesse et la diversité de la Californie... Sa terre, ses habitants, ses histoires et, surtout, les rêveurs qu'elle continue d'inspirer.  »

— Bob Iger, 15 juin 2012

Histoire et développement

Développement (1991-2001)

Westcot2 spaceshipearth.jpg

À l'origine, le deuxième parc à thème de Disneyland Resort devait être WestCOT, une version de la côte ouest d'EPCOT Center, comprenant des versions de Future World et de World Showcase de ce parc. Il aurait présenté des attractions similaires à celles d'Epcot, mais à la place de Spaceship Earth, il y aurait eu SpaceStation Earth, une structure dorée de 300 pieds beaucoup plus grande que le Spaceship Earth de 180 pieds.

WestCOT s'est heurté à une forte opposition de la part des résidents locaux, et le prix du parc, qui s'élevait à près de 3 milliards de dollars, s'est avéré non viable à la suite des problèmes financiers rencontrés par Disney avec Euro Disneyland. En 1995, le projet WestCOT a été abandonné au profit d'un parc à thème californien appelé "Disney's California Adventure", qui devait être construit sur le terrain alors occupé par l'immense parking de Disneyland, aux côtés d'un nouveau complexe hôtelier et d'un centre commercial, dont certaines parties reprendraient des parties du Disneyland Hotel original. Disneyland deviendrait ainsi le Disneyland Resort, une destination de divertissement de plusieurs jours de la même ampleur que son grand frère, Walt Disney World. La construction de Disney's California Adventure a commencé en 1998, aux côtés du nouveau Disney's Grand Californian Hotel et du Downtown Disney District.

Premières années (2001-2006)

Disney's California Adventure a ouvert ses portes le 8 février 2001, avec de grandes attentes. Dans un article paru en janvier 2001 dans le Los Angeles Times, les dirigeants de Disney s'attendaient à ce que le parc atteigne sa capacité maximale certains jours, ce qui l'obligerait à refuser des visiteurs. Cependant, le parc n'a pas répondu à ces attentes et a souffert d'une baisse de fréquentation. Les visiteurs ont été déçus par le petit nombre d'attractions réelles et leur qualité, par rapport au nombre beaucoup plus élevé de boutiques et de restaurants. Avec des attractions à sensations fortes comme California Screamin' et Maliboomer, les visiteurs se sont plaints qu'il n'y avait pas assez d'attractions pour les jeunes enfants. Contrairement à Disneyland, qui possède une ligne d'arbres élevée et une grande berme entourant le parc, limitant la vue des visiteurs sur les quartiers environnants, California Adventure était beaucoup plus exposé, avec les hôtels voisins, les lignes électriques, le centre de convention d'Anaheim clairement visibles, gâchant ainsi l'immersion que les invités pouvaient trouver dans les autres parcs Disney. En 2001, California Adventure a accueilli 5 000 000 de visiteurs, contre 12 300 000 pour Disneyland. Le parc a perdu deux sponsors majeurs en octobre 2001, lorsque Wolfgang Puck et Robert Mondavi ont fermé leurs restaurants dans le parc. Superstar Limo, le seul manège dark-ride du parc, qui a été mal accueilli, a fermé moins d'un an après l'ouverture du parc, en janvier 2002.

Afin de répondre à ces critiques, Disney a ajouté de nouvelles offres de divertissement et des attractions telles que Who Wants to Be a Millionaire – Play It! et Disney's Electrical Parade en 2001, A Bug's Land en 2002, Aladdin: A Musical Spectacular en 2003, The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror en 2004, et Monsters, Inc. Mike & Sulley to the Rescue! en 2006.

Expansion et redesign (2007-aujourd'hui)

California Adventure, vu depuis 'Paradise Pier' Hotel.

En 2007, Bob Iger, PDG de Disney, s'est penché sur la qualité médiocre perçue du parc et a déclaré: "Chaque fois que vous faites quelque chose de médiocre avec votre marque, c'est un retrait. California Adventure était un retrait de la marque". Cette année-là, la Walt Disney Company a annoncé une expansion massive de 1,1 milliard de dollars et une refonte du parc, qui a été réalisée par étapes. Toy Story Midway Mania! a ouvert en juin 2008. L'année 2009 a été marquée par une refonte de certaines parties de Paradise Pier, avec la suppression de Maliboomer, le changement de nom de la Sun Wheel, Orange Stinger et Mulholland Madness, qui deviennent respectivement Mickey's Fun Wheel, Silly Symphony Swings et Goofy's Sky School, et l'ouverture de The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea Adventure. Le très populaire World of Color a été inauguré à Paradise Pier en 2010. Le nom du parc a été modifié pour devenir Disney California Adventure le 11 juin 2010.

L'entrée principale du parc, Sunshine Plaza, a fait l'objet d'une refonte majeure. La porte principale du parc a été repoussée plus loin vers l'Esplanade et a été thématisée comme l'historique Auditorium Pan-Pacific de Los Angeles, similaire à la porte principale de Disney's Hollywood Studios. En 2011, la Sunshine Plaza, qui avait été conçue pour ressembler à une carte postale californienne stylisée, a été fermée et complètement dépouillée de ses thèmes, rebaptisée Buena Vista Street et redessinée pour ressembler au Los Angeles des années 1920, tel que Walt Disney aurait pu le voir à son arrivée. L'icône du soleil du parc a été remplacée par une réplique de l'historique Carthay Circle Theatre, un cinéma de Los Angeles qui a présenté Blanche-Neige et les Sept Nains en 1937. Le Carthay Circle abrite un restaurant et 1901, un salon accessible uniquement aux membres du Club 33. Des rails ont été posés le long de Buena Vista Street et dans Hollywood Pictures Backlot, désormais rebaptisé Hollywood Land, pour faire place au Red Car Trolley, une réplique du Pacific Electric Railway et la première attraction de transport du parc.

Le 15 juin 2012, California Adventure a été inauguré par Bob Iger, et Buena Vista Street et Cars Land ont ouvert leurs portes. Cars Land a ouvert avec trois nouvelles attractions basées sur la franchise Disney/Pixar Cars, y compris le "E-ticket" Radiator Springs Racers, un manège dark-ride à grande vitesse basé sur la technologie conçue à l'origine pour le Test Track d'Epcot.

Suite à la refonte et à l'ouverture de nouveaux lands et attractions, la fréquentation et l'accueil du parc ont augmenté de manière significative. En 2012, le parc a accueilli pour la première fois plus de 7 000 000 visiteurs. Deux jours après la nouvelle inauguration, le parc a atteint un record de 45 000 invités en une seule journée.

En 2014, Condor Flats, un land original ayant pour thème un aérodrome du désert et ouvert avec le parc en 2001, a été fermé pour rénovation. En mai 2015, il a rouvert ses portes sous le nom de Grizzly Peak Airfield, qui est désormais une sous-section de Grizzly Peak. Grizzly Peak Airfield, dont le thème est plus cohérent, se présente comme une National Recreation Area des années 1950, mais son attraction phare, Soarin' Over California, fonctionne toujours comme en 2001. En 2016, l'attraction est renommé Soarin' Over the World.

Plan du parc

Disney-california-adventure-park-map.jpg

Zones

Buena Vista Street

Article principal: Buena Vista Street

Lorsqu'elle a été inaugurée sous le nom de Sunshine Plaza, elle servait d'entrée au parc et comptait plusieurs magasins et restaurants à service rapide, dont Greetings From California, Engine Ears Toys, Baker's Field Bakery et Bur-r-r Bank Ice Cream. Ces trois derniers établissements étaient intégrés dans une réplique de la California Zephyr EMD FP7 du Western Pacific Railroad et de son matériel roulant.

Dans le cadre de la réimagination du parc, Sunshine Plaza a été transformée en Buena Vista Street, représentant le Los Angeles que Walt Disney a vu lorsqu'il y est arrivé pour la première fois à la fin des années 1920. Le transport vers Hollywood Land est désormais assuré par l'attraction Red Car Trolley (actuellement fermée en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19). La rue Buena Vista a été officiellement ouverte le 15 juin 2012.

Hollywood Land

Article principal: Hollywood Land

Hollywood Land (anciennement Hollywood Pictures Backlot) est divisé en deux zones: l'une représentant Hollywood Boulevard et l'autre un backlot de studio de cinéma. La plupart des façades des bâtiments de Hollywood Land sont inspirées de bâtiments réels de la région de Los Angeles. Les attractions de Hollywood Land comprennent Disney Animation, Mickey's PhilharMagic, Monsters, Inc. Mike & Sulley to the Rescue!, et Disney Junior: Live on Stage!. Les destinations shopping incluent Gone Hollywood, Off the Page, et le Studio Store, tandis que les restaurants sont fournis par Award Wieners et Schmoozies!.

Grizzly Peak

Article principal: Grizzly Peak

Les attractions comprennent Grizzly River Run, Soarin' Around the World (anciennement connu sous le nom de Soarin' Over California), et Redwood Creek Challenge Trail. Les restaurants comprennent le Smokejumpers Grill.

Pacific Wharf

Article principal: Pacific Wharf

Pacific Wharf comprend des restaurants tels que Cocina Cucamonga Mexican Grill, Lucky Fortune Cookery et Pacific Wharf Cafe. Il y a aussi la fontaine à soda et la chocolaterie Ghirardelli, le premier établissement Ghirardelli dans un parc Disney. Les attractions comprennent le Bakery Tour et le Blue Sky Cellar de Walt Disney Imagineering.

Paradise Gardens Park

Article principal: Paradise Gardens Park
Disneys-california-adventure alt.jpg

Paradise Gardens Park, situé à l'extrémité sud du parc, est un hommage aux parcs d'attractions de bord de mer de la Californie du début du 20e siècle et comprend une baie étendue, qui accueille World of Color depuis le 11 juin 2010. Dans le cadre de la réimagination du parc, Paradise Gardens Park a été transformé en un parc d'attractions de bord de mer au design plus élégant, avec une architecture d'inspiration victorienne et moins de thèmes de style carnaval pour lesquels le parc était critiqué à ses débuts. Le désormais très populaire Toy Story Midway Mania! a été ajouté en 2008. La Sun Wheel a été convertie en Mickey's Fun Wheel et les Midway Games ont été complètement redessinés en 2009, et Orange Stinger a été retiré et remplacé par les Silly Symphony Swings inspirés de La Fanfare en 2010. Mulholland Madness a été converti en Goofy's Sky School avec un style victorien, et l'attraction Omnimover, The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea Adventure, a ouvert en 2011 sur l'ancien site de Golden Dreams.

Pixar Pier

Article principal: Pixar Pier

Pixar Pier est divisé en plusieurs "quartiers", chacun d'entre eux étant consacré à une franchise différente des studios d'animation Pixar, mais conservant des aspects victoriens. Un quartier sur le thème des films Les Indestructibles est ancré par Incredicoaster (anciennement California Screamin'). Un quartier Toy Story est ancré par Toy Story Midway Mania!. Un quartier Vice-Versa abrite Inside Out Emotional Whirlwind. Pixar Pal-A-Round est le point d'ancrage d'un quatrième quartier célébrant l'ensemble des films Pixar, les gondoles de l'attraction ayant été remodelées en fonction des personnages Pixar tout en conservant le visage de Mickey Mouse sur son côté nord.

Paradise Gardens Park comprend le reste de l'ancien Paradise Pier sur les côtés ouest et nord de Paradise Bay.

Cars Land

Article principal: Cars Land

Cars Land est un ajout de 12 acres à Disney California Adventure et a ouvert le 15 juin 2012. Cars Land représente la Route 66 et la culture automobile californienne, et est basé sur le film Cars: Quatre Roues de 2006 de Disney/Pixar. Cars Land comprend trois nouvelles attractions: Mater's Junkyard Jamboree, Luigi's Rollickin' Roadsters, et Radiator Springs Racers. Luigi's Rollickin' Roadsters a remplacé Luigi's Flying Tires, une attraction qui a fonctionné de 2012 à 2015. Radiator Springs Racers, la pièce maîtresse de l'expansion de California Adventure, est un gigantesque manège à sensations fortes à E-Ticket, similaire à la technologie Test Track d'Epcot.

Avengers Campus

Article principal: Avengers Campus (Disney California Adventure)

Parades

Liste des Parades

Anciennes Zones

Golden State

Article principal: Golden State

Golden State a été divisé en plusieurs zones: The Bay Area, Condor Flats, Golden Vine Winery, Grizzly Peak Recreation Area, et Pacific Wharf.

Depuis l'été 2015, Pacific Wharf est désormais son propre terrain, les noms The Bay, Condor Flats et Recreation Area ont été abandonnés, Golden State est devenu Grizzly Peak, et Golden Vine Winery fait désormais partie de Pacific Wharf.

A Bug's Land

Article principal: A Bug's Land

A Bug's Land a ouvert ses portes le 7 octobre 2002 et s'inspire du film de Disney Pixar de 1998, 1001 pattes. On y trouvait Flik's Fun Fair et Bountiful Valley Farms. La zone a été fermée le 5 septembre 2018 pour faire place à la zone Avengers Campus, dont l'ouverture était initialement prévue en 2020 mais a été reportée à 2021 en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. Une zone avec plus d'une ambiance de carnaval à elle, la zone avait de multiples manèges pour les plus jeunes enfants de la famille et l'incroyable It's Tough to Be a Bug! en 3D.

Images

Disneyland Resort.webp

Disneyland Park Icon.svg Parc Disneyland

Lands Attractions Divertissements Boutiques Restaurants
Adventureland Indiana Jones Adventure: Temple of the Forbidden EyeJungle CruiseTarzan's TreehouseWalt Disney's Enchanted Tiki Room Adventureland Bazaar The Tropical Hideaway
Frontierland Big Thunder Mountain RailroadGolden Horseshoe SaloonMark Twain RiverboatPirate's Lair on Tom Sawyer Island The Golden Horseshoe Cafe
Main Street, U.S.A. Disneyland RailroadMain Street CinemaMain Street VehiclesThe Disney Gallery The Dapper DansThe Disneyland Band Main Street Magic Shop
Fantasyland Alice in WonderlandCasey Jr. Circus TrainDumbo the Flying ElephantFantasy FaireIt's a Small WorldKing Arthur CarrouselMad Tea PartyMatterhorn BobsledsFantasyland TheatreMr. Toad's Wild RidePeter Pan's FlightPinnochio's Daring JourneyPixie HollowSleeping Beauty CastleSleeping Beauty Castle WalkthroughSnow White GrottoSnow White's Enchanted WishStorybook Land Canal BoatsSword in the Stone Bibbidi Bobbidi Boutique Red Rose Tavern
Tomorrowland Astro OrbitorAutopiaBuzz Lightyear Astro BlastersDisneyland MonorailDisneyland RailroadFinding Nemo Submarine VoyageSpace MountainStar Tours: The Adventures Alien Pizza Planet
New Orleans Square Disneyland RailroadHaunted MansionHaunted Mansion HolidayPirates of the Caribbean Fantasmic! Blue Bayou RestaurantClub 33
Critter Country Davy Crockett's Explorer CanoesThe Many Adventures of Winnie the PoohSplash Mountain Pooh Corner Hungry Bear Restaurant
Mickey's Toontown Chip and Dale's TreehouseDonald's BoatDisneyland RailroadGadget's Go CoasterGoofy's PlayhouseRoger Rabbit's Car Toon SpinMickey's House and Meet MickeyMinnie's House
Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge Millenium Falcon: Smuggler's RunStar Wars: Rise of the Resistance Oga's Cantina
Disney California Adventure Icon.svg Disney California Adventure
Lands Attractions Divertissements Boutiques Restaurants
Buena Vista Street Fiddler, Fifer & Practical Café, and Bakery
Hollywood Land Disney Animation BuildingMonsters, Inc. Mike & Sulley to the Rescue!Mickey's PhilharMagic
Grizzly Peak Soarin' Around the WorldRedwood Creek Challenge Trail
Pacific Wharf Walt Disney Imagineering Blue Sky Cellar
Cars Land Radiator Springs RacersMater's Junkyard JamboreeLuigi's Rollickin' Roadsters
Paradise Gardens Park Goofy's Sky SchoolJumpin' JellyfishGolden ZephyrThe Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea AdventureSilly Symphony Swing World of Color
Pixar Pier Games of Pixar PierIncredicoasterJessie's Critter CarouselInside Out Emotional WhirlwindPixar Pal-A-RoundToy Story Midway Mania! Adorable Snowman Frosted TreatsAngry DogsJack Jack's Cookie Num NumsPoultry PalaceSeñor Buzz Churros
Avengers Campus Guardians of the Galaxy - Mission: BREAKOUT!Web Slingers: A Spider-Man Adventure Doctor Strange: Mysteries of the Mystic ArtsGuardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Dance Off!
Autres
Activités Downtown Disney
Hôtels Disneyland HotelDisney's Paradise Pier HotelDisney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Advertisement

Disney Wiki
Advertisement
Disney Wiki

 


Disney California Adventure is the second theme park at the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, California, located adjacent to Disneyland that opened on February 8, 2001. It is adjacent to the south of Disneyland and southeast of Downtown Disney.

Dedications

Original Dedication

To all who believe in the power of dreams, welcome. Disney's California Adventure opens its golden gates to you. Here we pay tribute to the dreamers of the past: the native people, explorers, immigrants, aviators, entrepreneurs and entertainers who built the Golden State. And we salute a new generation of dreamers who are creating the wonders of tomorrow, from the silver screen to the computer screen, from the fertile farmlands to the far reaches of space. Disney's California Adventure celebrates the richness and the diversity of California... its land, its people, its spirit and, above all, the dreams that it continues to inspire. —Michael D. Eisner, February 8, 2001

Rededication

To all who come to this place of dreams, welcome. Disney California Adventure celebrates the spirit of optimism and the promise of endless opportunities, ignited by the imagination of daring dreamers such as Walt Disney and those like him who forever changed- and were forever changed by- The Golden State. This unique place embraces the richness and diversity of California... Its land, its people, its stories and, above all, the dreamers it continues to inspire.Robert A. Iger, June 15, 2012

History and Development

Development (1991-2001)

Westcot2 spaceshipearth.jpg

Originally, the Disneyland Resort's second theme park was to have been WestCOT, a West Coast version of EPCOT Center, including versions of that park's Future World and World Showcase. It would've featured attractions similar to those found at Epcot, but instead of Spaceship Earth, it would've had SpaceStation Earth, a 300-foot golden structure much bigger than the 180-foot Spaceship Earth.

WestCOT faced significant opposition from local residents, and the park's price tag of nearly $3 billion would prove unviable in the wake of Disney's financial problems with Euro Disneyland. In 1995, the WestCOT project was scrapped in favor of a California-themed park called "Disney's California Adventure", to be built on the land then occupied by Disneyland's massive parking lot, alongside a new resort hotel and shopping district, some portions of which would take over portions of the original Disneyland Hotel. This would turn Disneyland into the much larger Disneyland Resort, a multi-day entertainment destination in the vein of its much larger sister resort, Walt Disney World. Construction began on Disney's California Adventure in 1998, alongside the new Disney's Grand Californian Hotel and Downtown Disney District.

Early years (2001-2006)

Disney's California Adventure opened on February 8, 2001, with high expectations. In a January 2001 article in the Los Angeles Times, Disney executives ambitiously expected the park to reach capacity on some days, forcing the park to turn guests away. However, the park would not reach these expectations, and suffered from flagging attendance. Guests were underwhelmed by the small number of actual attractions and the quality thereof, compared to the much higher number of shops and restaurants. With thrill rides like California Screamin' and Maliboomer, guests complained that there were not enough attractions for younger children. Unlike Disneyland, which has a high tree line and a large berm surrounding the park, limiting guests' view of the surrounding neighborhoods, California Adventure was much more exposed, with nearby hotels, power lines, the Anaheim Convention Center clearly visible, thus spoiling the immersion that guests could find in other Disney parks. In 2001, California Adventure saw 5,000,000 guests compared to Disneyland's 12,300,000. The park lost two major sponsors in October 2001, when Wolfgang Puck and Robert Mondavi closed their restaurants in the park. Superstar Limo, the park's poorly-received lone dark ride, closed less than a year after park opening, in January 2002.

In order to address these criticisms, Disney added new entertainment offerings and attractions such as Who Wants to Be a Millionaire – Play It! and Disney's Electrical Parade in 2001, A Bug's Land in 2002, Aladdin: A Musical Spectacular in 2003, The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror in 2004, and Monsters, Inc. Mike & Sulley to the Rescue! in 2006.

Expansion and redesign (2007-present)

California Adventure Park, as seen from the 'Paradise Pier' Hotel.

In 2007, Disney CEO Bob Iger addressed the perceived subpar quality of the park and stated, "Any time you do something mediocre with your brand, that's a withdrawal. California Adventure was a brand withdrawal." That year, the Walt Disney Company announced a massive $1.1 billion expansion and redesign for the park, which was completed in stages. Toy Story Midway Mania! opened in June 2008. 2009 saw a redesign of portions of Paradise Pier, with the removal of Maliboomer, the retheming of the Sun Wheel, Orange Stinger, and Mulholland Madness to Mickey's Fun Wheel, Silly Symphony Swings, and Goofy's Sky School, respectively, and the opening of The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea Adventure. The highly successful World of Color premiered in Paradise Pier in 2010. The park's name was rebranded and modified to Disney California Adventure on June 11, 2010.

The park's main entrance area, Sunshine Plaza, underwent a major redesign. The main gate of the park was pushed out further towards the Esplanade and themed to Los Angeles' historic Pan-Pacific Auditorium, similar to the main gate of Disney's Hollywood Studios. In 2011, Sunshine Plaza, which was designed to resemble a stylized California postcard, was closed and completely stripped of its theming, renamed Buena Vista Street and redesigned to resemble 1920s Los Angeles, as Walt Disney may have seen it upon his arrival there. The park's Sun Icon was replaced by a replica of the historic Carthay Circle Theatre, a Los Angeles movie palace that premiered Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs in 1937. The Carthay Circle hosts a restaurant and 1901, a lounge accessible only by members of Club 33. Tracks were laid down Buena Vista Street and into Hollywood Pictures Backlot, now renamed Hollywood Land, to make way for the Red Car Trolley, a replica of the Pacific Electric Railway and the park's first transportation attraction.

On June 15, 2012, the California Adventure was rededicated by Bob Iger, and Buena Vista Street and Cars Land opened. Cars Land opened with three new attractions based on the Disney/Pixar Cars franchise, including the "E-ticket" Radiator Springs Racers, a high-speed dark ride based on technology originally designed for Epcot's Test Track.

Following the redesign and opening of new lands and attractions, attendance and reception of the park increased significantly. In 2012, the park welcomed more than 7,000,000 guests for the first time. Two days after the rededication, the park reached a record 45,000 guests in a single day.

In 2014, Condor Flats, an original land themed to a desert airfield and opened with the park in 2001, was closed for refurbishment. In May 2015, it reopened as Grizzly Peak Airfield, now a subsection of Grizzly Peak. The more cohesively-themed Grizzly Peak Airfield is set as a 1950s National Recreation Area, though its signature attraction, Soarin' Over California still operates as it did in 2001. In 2016, the attraction became Soarin' Over the World.

Recent Parks Map

Disney-california-adventure-park-map.jpg

Areas

Buena Vista Street

Main article: Buena Vista Street

When it opened as Sunshine Plaza, it served as the entrance plaza to the park, and was anchored by several stores and quick-service restaurants, including Greetings From California, Engine Ears Toys, Baker's Field Bakery, and Bur-r-r Bank Ice Cream. The latter three locations were integrated within a replica of a Western Pacific Railroad California Zephyr EMD FP7 locomotive and rolling stock.

As part of the re-imagined park, Sunshine Plaza was transformed into Buena Vista Street, representing the Los Angeles that Walt Disney saw when he first arrived there in the late 1920's. Transportation to Hollywood Land is now provided by the Red Car Trolley attraction (currently closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic). Buena Vista Street officially opened on June 15, 2012.

Hollywood Land

Main article: Hollywood Land

Hollywood Land (formerly Hollywood Pictures Backlot) is divided into two areas: one representing Hollywood Boulevard and the other a movie studio backlot. Many of the building facades in Hollywood Land are inspired by real-life buildings in the Los Angeles area. Attractions in Hollywood Land include Disney Animation, Mickey's PhilharMagic, Monsters, Inc. Mike & Sulley to the Rescue!, and Disney Junior: Live on Stage!. Shopping destinations include Gone Hollywood, Off the Page, and the Studio Store, while dining is provided by Award Wieners and Schmoozies!.

Grizzly Peak

Main article: Grizzly Peak

Attractions include Grizzly River Run, Soarin' Around the World (which formerly known as Soarin' Over California), and the Redwood Creek Challenge Trail. Dining includes Smokejumpers Grill.

Pacific Wharf

Main article: Pacific Wharf

Pacific Wharf includes dining locations such as Cocina Cucamonga Mexican Grill, Lucky Fortune Cookery, and Pacific Wharf Cafe. There is also the Ghirardelli Soda Fountain and Chocolate Shop, the first Ghirardelli location inside a Disney park. Attractions include The Bakery Tour and the Walt Disney Imagineering Blue Sky Cellar.

Paradise Gardens Park

Main article: Paradise Gardens Park

Disneys-california-adventure alt.jpeg

Paradise Gardens Park, located at the south end of the park, is a tribute to the beachside amusement parks of early 20th century California and features a sprawling bay, which plays host to World of Color as of June 11, 2010. As part of the re-imagined park, Paradise Gardens Park underwent a transformation into a more elegantly-designed beachside amusement park, with more Victorian-inspired architecture and less of the carnival-style theming the park was criticized for in its early days. The now-highly popular Toy Story Midway Mania! was added in 2008. The Sun Wheel was converted to Mickey's Fun Wheel and the Midway Games were completely redesigned in 2009, and the Orange Stinger was removed and replaced with the Band Concert-inspired Silly Symphony Swings in 2010. Mulholland Madness was converted to the Victorian-style Goofy's Sky School, and the Omnimover attraction, The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea Adventure, opened in 2011 on the former site of Golden Dreams.

Pixar Pier

Main article: Pixar Pier

Pixar Pier is split into several "neighborhoods", each themed to a different Pixar Animation Studios franchise, though retaining Victorian aspects. An Incredibles-themed neighborhood is anchored by the Incredicoaster (formerly California Screamin'). A Toy Story neighborhood is anchored by Toy Story Midway Mania!. An Inside Out neighborhood is home to Inside Out Emotional Whirlwind. Pixar Pal-A-Round anchors a fourth neighborhood celebrating Pixar films as a whole, with the attraction's gondolas re-themed to Pixar characters while retaining Mickey Mouse's face on its northern side.

Paradise Gardens Park comprises the remainder of the former Paradise Pier on the west and northern sides of Paradise Bay, with attractions such as The Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea Adventure, Silly Symphony Swings, and Goofy's Sky School.

Cars Land

Main article: Cars Land

Cars Land is a 12-acre addition to Disney California Adventure and opened on June 15, 2012. Cars Land represents Route 66 and the California car culture, and is based on the 2006 Disney/Pixar film Cars. Cars Land includes three new attractions: Mater's Junkyard Jamboree, Luigi's Rollickin' Roadsters, and Radiator Springs Racers. Luigi's Rollickin' Roadsters replaced Luigi's Flying Tires, an attraction that operated from 2012 to 2015. Radiator Springs Racers, the centerpiece of the California Adventure expansion, is a massive E-ticket thrill ride similar to Epcot's Test Track technology.

Avengers Campus

Main article: Avengers Campus (Disney California Adventure)

Parades

List of Parades

Former Areas

Golden State

Main article: Golden State

The Golden State was divided into several areas: The Bay Area, Condor Flats, Golden Vine Winery, Grizzly Peak Recreation Area, and Pacific Wharf.

As of Summer 2015, Pacific Wharf is now its own land, The Bay, Condor Flats, and Recreation Area names were discontinued, Golden State became known as Grizzly Peak, and Golden Vine Winery is now a part of Pacific Wharf.

A Bug's Land

Main article: A Bug's Land

A Bug's Land opened on October 7, 2002 and was based off the 1998 Disney Pixar film A Bug's Life. It featured Flik's Fun Fair, and Bountiful Valley Farms. The area was closed on September 5, 2018 to make way for the Avengers Campus area, which was originally scheduled to open in 2020 but was delayed to 2021 as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. A a land with more of a carnival feel to it, the area had multiple rides for the younger children in the family and the incredible It's Tough to Be a Bug! 3D show.

Gallery

References


v - e - d
Disneyland Resort.png
Theme Parks
DisneylandDisney California Adventure
Other Attractions
Downtown Disney
Resorts
Disneyland HotelDisney's Paradise Pier HotelDisney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa


v - e - d
Disney California Adventure logo.png
Buena Vista Street
None
Hollywood Land
Disney Animation Building (Turtle Talk with CrushAnimation Academy) • Disney Junior Dance Party! (Reopening on October 15, 2021) • Monsters, Inc. Mike & Sulley to the Rescue!Mickey's PhilharMagicHyperion Theater
Grizzly Peak
Grizzly River RunSoarin' Around the WorldRedwood Creek Challenge Trail

Seasonal: Villains Grove

Pacific Wharf
Walt Disney Imagineering Blue Sky Cellar
Cars Land
Radiator Springs RacersMater's Junkyard JamboreeLuigi's Rollickin' Roadsters

Seasonal: Haul-O-Ween • Mater's Graveyard JamBOOree • Luigi's Honkin' Haul-O-Ween • Mater's Jingle Jamboree

Paradise Gardens Park
Goofy's Sky SchoolSilly Symphony SwingsJumpin' JellyfishThe Little Mermaid: Ariel's Undersea AdventureGolden Zephyr
Pixar Pier
IncredicoasterInside Out Emotional WhirlwindJessie's Critter CarouselPixar Pal-A-RoundToy Story Midway Mania!Games of Pixar Pier
Avengers Campus
Avengers Quinjet (Opening in 2022) • Doctor Strange: Mysteries of the Mystic ArtsGuardians of the Galaxy - Mission: BREAKOUT!Web Slingers: A Spider-Man Adventure

Seasonal: Guardians of the Galaxy - Monsters After Dark

Current Entertainment
World of Color (Reopening in 2022)

Seasonal: Disney's Celebrate America • World of Color: Seasons of Light • World of Color: Villainous • Frightfully Fun Parade

Former Attractions and Entertainment
A Bug's Land (Flik's FlyersFrancis' Ladybug BoogieHeimlich's Chew Chew TrainIt's Tough to Be a Bug! • Princess Dot Puddle Park • Tuck & Roll's Drive 'Em Buggies) • Hyperion Theater (Aladdin: A Musical SpectacularFrozen: Live at the Hyperion) • California Screamin'Disney Junior - Live on Stage!Golden DreamsKing Triton's Carousel of the SeaLuigi's Flying TiresMaliboomerMission Tortilla FactoryMuppet*Vision 3DPaint the NightSuperstar LimoThe Twilight Zone Tower of TerrorWho Wants to Be a Millionaire – Play It!S.S. RustworthyDisney's LuminAriaDisney's Electrical ParadeDisney's Eureka! A California ParadeBlock Party BashPixar Play ParadeCondor Flats (Paradise PierGolden State) • Red Car TrolleyThe Bakery Tour

Seasonal: World of Color: Winter Dreams • World of Color: Celebrate! - The Wonderful World of Walt Disney

Resorts
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & SpaDisney's Paradise Pier Hotel
Advertisement