FANDOM


1
«  Mon frère Kenai a continué à vivre avec Koda parmi les ours. Il m’a fait découvrir la puissance de l’amour. J’ai transmis à notre peuple toute la sagesse de cette histoire. L’histoire d’un jeune garçon qui, pour être un homme, est devenu un ours.  »

— Dehani citant son frère

Kenaï est le protagoniste éponyme du long métrage d'animation de Disney Frère des Ours sorti en 2003 et de sa suite sorti en 2006.

Apparitions

Frère des Ours (2003)

Kenaï, le plus jeune frère de sa fratrie dont Sitka et Denahi sont les ainés, est un jeune homme turbulent. Désinvolte et aventurier, il attend impatiemment le jour de la cérémonie de la maturité où la chamane de son village lui remettra son totem, symbole d'une vertu qu'il devra accomplir et suivre toute sa vie. Mais alors qu'il l'imagine représenter un animal puissant, symbole de puissance ou de sagesse comme ses frères aînés Sitka et Denahi, il reçoit « l'ours de l'amour ».

Furieux des moqueries de son frère aîné Dehani et des reproches quant au vol par un ours de la pêche qui devait servir au banquet et que la désinvolture de Kenaï avait favorisé, ce dernier décide de se lancer à la poursuite du grizzli dans la forêt. Il finit par retrouver et affronter l'animal au sommet d'un pic rocheux, mais présumant de ses forces, il est rapidement mis en difficulté. Ses deux frères interviennent alors pour éloigner le danger mais l'ours est beaucoup trop fort pour eux. L'affrontement se termine tragiquement par la perte de Sitka, qui se sacrifie pour sauver Kenai et Denahi, en déclenchant un éboulement de falaise qui le fait tomber mortellement avec l'ours, alors que ce dernier s'en sort indemne.

Le soir, après les funérailles de son frère, désespéré et fou de rage, Kenaï veut venger Sitka, mais Denahi tente de lui faire entendre raison, il essait de lui faire compendre que ce n'est pas l'ours qui est responsable de la disparition de Sitka, et avertit son frère que commettre cet acte de vengence inutile pourrait engendrer la colère des esprits. Mais Kenai, borné et haineux, s'en moque, et après avoir jeté son totem d'ours de l'amour dans les flammes, il s'en va traquer l'ours. Il finit par le tuer au sommet d'une aiguille rocheuse, et pour avoir commit cet acte de haine, les esprits apparaissent, dont notamment l'esprit de Sitka et le métamorphosent en ours en guise de punition. Denahi, qui s'était entretemps lancé à la poursuite de Kenaï arrive juste à ce moment-là. Apercevant un énorme ours au sommet du pic rocheux et les haillons de Kenaï éparpillés sur la roche, il pense à tort que l'ours qui se tient devant lui a tué Kenaï. Il se lance alors à la poursuite de l'ours, sans savoir qu'il s'agit en réalité de son propre frère.

Le lendemain matin après avoir semé Denahi, Kenai se réveille, sous les soins de Nanaka, qui lui révèle qu'il est devenu un ours grâce à la magie de Sitka. Kenaï affolé et confus par ce qui lui arrive, doit atteindre le lieu où les lumières touche la terre, ainsi il pourra demander à l'esprit de son frère Sitka de lui rendre sa forme humaine. En chemin Kenaï fait la connaissance d'un ourson orphelin, Koda, qui est très bavard, et qui semble agacer Kenaï. Au début, Kenai n'aime pas la compagnie du jeune ourson, mais au fil du voyage, il s'attache à lui. Après avoir échappé Denahi (qui ne sait toujours pas que Kenai a été transformé en ours), Koda tente de le neutraliser en s'échappant à l'intérieur d'un glacier, Koda dit à Kenai qu'il était séparé de sa mère, et décide que Kenai devrait l'aider à la retrouver.

Kenai et Koda se lient d'amitié avec un duo d'élan nommé Truc et Muche , et voyagent avec eux vers les montagnes, mais décident de monter sur plusieurs mammouths laineux pour y arriver plus vite. Après avoir quitté leur mammouth, mais en laissant les élans derrière eux, les deux ours séparent après une petite altercation du au fait qu'ils se retrouvent égarés. Koda abandonne Kenai et s'en va seul, pour entrer dans une carverne abandonnée plein de peintures rupestres montrant des ours attaqués par des "monstres avec des bâtons" (d'après Koda). Après avoir reçu des instructions d'un duo de béliers, Kenai et Koda essaient de se frayer un chemin à travers un champ de lave tout en tentant de fuir Denahi à nouveau, jusqu'à ce que les deux ours arrivent à une cascade au pied de la montagne, où une troupe entière d'ours participent à une pêche course au saumon. Après avoir appris à mieux connaître ces ours, Kenai se rend compte qu'il avait tort de dire qu'ils étaient des monstres, et que les ours sont de très beaux animaux tout le temps. La troupe d'ours accueille Kenai et le traite comme sa nouvelle famille, Koda étant son nouveau frère cadet, jusqu'à ce qu'il soit temps pour eux de se raconter des histoires en se passant un saumon mort, et c'est à Koda de raconter une histoire. Koda raconte l'histoire de sa mère qui combat des chasseurs humains, faisant réaliser à Kenai avec horreur que l'ours qu'il a tué était la mère de Koda.

Choqué et horrifié, Kenai s'enfuit, mais Koda le trouve bientôt. Kenai révèle la vérité à Koda, qui s'enfuit, affligé. Kenai se dirige tristement vers la montagne, seul, pour trouver Sitka, mais pour tomber à nouveau sur Denahi, maintenant furieux, qui l'attend. Alors que Denahi était sur le point de donner le coup de grâce à Kenai, Koda, après avoir écouté les conseils des élans lors d'une autre rencontre avec eux, sauve Kenai de la mort en prenant la lance de Denahi pour distraire Kenai afin qu'il puisse s'enfuir et que Sitka le change à nouveau, pour ensuite laisser tomber la lance par accident, ce qui lui permet de tenter plutôt de le tuer. Quand Kenai découvre que Koda est maintenant en danger, il saute entre les deux opposants, essayant de se sacrifier de la même manière que la mère de Koda avant qu'il ne la tue, et par conséquent, Sitka (dont le fantôme ressemble à un aigle, qui les observait tout le temps) déclare le courage et la fraternité de Kenai, et sauve Kenai en lui rendant forme humaine.

Cependant, comme Koda n'a plus sa mère (dont le fantôme arrive pour que son fils puisse lui dire au revoir) avec lui, Kenai choisit de rester un ours en permanence et de rester dans les bois et de vivre avec Koda, qui avait besoin de lui plus que tout autre de son propre peuple. Pour cet acte d'amour, Kenai a été déclaré homme.

Frère des Ours 2 (2006)

Kenai se réveille de sa première hibernation pour découvrir que le printemps est arrivé (Kenai s'est séparé de Denahi, Nanaka et des villageois pour s'occuper de Koda, mais peut encore leur rendre visite hors champ). Même avec de la neige au sol et des arbres encore dénudés, l'amour est décidément dans l'air. Kenai et Koda se moquent de la notion de romantisme, mais Goliath (le grand ours brun foncé du premier film) les met en garde (Kenai en particulier) : "Tu ne peux pas fuir l'amour. Il a un moyen de vous traquer." Kenai rit, mais plus tard il rêve de Nita, une fille qu'il connaissait quand il était jeune et humain. Pendant le rêve, Kenai sauve Nita après qu'elle soit tombée dans l'eau, Kenai lui donne son amulette pour se souvenir de lui avant qu'ils ne peignent une image d'eux-mêmes sur un mur de grotte après quoi Nita rentra chez elle avec sa tribu.

Pendant ce temps, dans son propre village, Nita se prépare à son mariage avec un homme nommé Atka. Mais quand le grand moment arrive, la cérémonie est interrompue par les grands esprits. Le tremblement de terre a tout détruit sur son passage, il est révélé que Nita ne peut pas épouser Atka. La raison en est que Kenai a donné son amulette à Nita. Ce que ni Kenai ni Nita n'ont réalisé, c'est que l'amulette les liait comme un seul homme. La seule façon pour Nita d'épouser Atka est d'aller avec Kenai au chute d'Hokani, où il lui a d'abord donné l'amulette et de la brûler.

Nita trouve Kenai et parvient à le convaincre de l'aider. Mais au cours de leurs trois jours de voyage, leur vieille amitié renaît et s'épanouit. Quand Nita demande à Kenai si le fait d'être humain lui manque, il répond oui. Koda s'enfuit en haut d'une montagne, pensant que Kenai va le quitter. Kenai et Nita, inquiets, cherchent Koda alors qu'une tempête de neige frappe. Ils n'ont pas de chance au début et Kenai continue, sans remarquer que Nita s'arrête. Nita trouve Koda, mais une avalanche se déclenche et alors que Nita crie, Kenai se retourne et voit la neige se diriger vers eux. Les deux sont poussés vers le bas de la montagne et sont bientôt ensevelis sous la neige en furie. Kenai se précipite pour les sauver et dit à Koda qu'il ne l'abandonnera jamais. Malgré le fait que tous deux développent des sentiments l'un pour l'autre, Kenai et Nita brûlent l'amulette et Nita retourne dans son village, pour découvrir que là où l'amulette l'a empêché d'épouser Atka auparavant, maintenant son cœur ne la laisse pas non plus se marier avec lui.

Quand Kenai se réveille le lendemain matin, ses amis élans Truc et Muche, lui disent que Koda est allé au village de Nita pour la récupérer. Kenai se précipite au village, sachant que Koda sera tué. De retour au village, les villageois repèrent Koda et le poursuivent dans un arbre. Puis, Kenai se précipite à la rescousse, attrape Koda et s'enfuit. Nita entend l'agitation dehors et sort en courant de sa tente. Elle est horrifiée quand Atka s'en prend à Kenai et Koda. Elle les poursuit ensuite pour essayer d'arrêter Atka. Atka a poursuivi Kenai dans les montagnes. Kenai cache Koda et s'enfuit pour distraire les chasseurs. Atka trouve Kenai et le coince sur une falaise. Ils se battent et Kenai est sur le point de tuer Atka quand Nita lui crie d'arrêter, mais c'est trop tard. Kenai laisse partir Atka et pendant qu'il est distrait, Atka lui jette de la braise au visage et le jette de la falaise.

Atka gagne et Nita crie de consternation (parce que Kenai a perdu), pousse Atka hors du chemin et descend les rochers pour aider Kenai. Kenai est vivant, bien qu'il n'ait pas réussi à vaincre Atka, et dit à Nita qu'il l'aime et elle lui dit la même chose. Les esprits redescendent et Nita est capable de comprendre les ours à nouveau. Koda dit à Kenai qu'il a demandé aux esprits de le changer en homme pour qu'il soit heureux. Kenai dit à Nita qu'il ne peut pas - comme il ne peut pas quitter Koda, mais elle dit qu'elle peut. Ainsi, Nita est transformée en ours de la même couleur que Kenai, et ils se marient.

Les Esprits transforment ensuite la peinture rupestre de Kenai et de Nita de l'enfance en oursons, car les deux sont maintenant des oursons.

Autres Appartions

Dans Ralph 2.0, une capture d'écran représentant Kenai et Koda peut être vue sur une bannière en arrière-plan d'Oh My Disney.

Kenai apparaît comme un personnage ambulant dans sa forme d'ours à Disney's Animal Kingdom, bien qu'anciennement apparu à Epcot et ayant une place importante dans Disney California Adventure.

À California Adventure, Kenai est apparu dans le cadre du thème Magic of Brother Bear au Redwood Creek Challenge Trail, dans le cadre d'une cérémonie totémique, d'une sculpture en bois sculpté à l'entrée de la région et du nom de la grotte Spirit de Kenai, où les invités peuvent trouver leur totem animal en plaçant leur main sur des empreintes de pattes lumineuses. Au cours de l'été 2011, le thème de Frère des Ours sera enlevé et remplacé par un thème Là-haut inspiré par les Wilderness Explorers. Bien que Kenai et Koda n'apparaissent plus dans la région, la grotte de l'Esprit est restée pratiquement intacte, à l'exception des signes qui suppriment le nom de Kenai.

Anecdotes

  • La scène où Kenai dit à Truc et Muche : " Je ne suis pas un castor, je suis un Ours, enfin je veux dire que, je ne suis pas un ours, je suis un homme !" après l'avoir traité de castor après l'avoir vu transformé en ours par le fantôme de Sitka pourrait être une référence à une scène dans Merlin l'Enchanteur où Arthur et Merlin sont transformés en écureuils par la magie de Merlin, et Merlin dit à la vieille dame écureuil, "Je ne suis pas un homme, je veux dire, je ne suis pas un écureuil, je suis un homme" quand elle tombe amoureuse avec sa silhouette.
  • Joaquin Phoenix n'a pas repris son rôle de Kenai pour la suite en raison de conflits d'horaire. Patrick Dempsey l'a remplacé. Phoenix et Dempsey partagent Kenai comme leur seul rôle d'acteur vocal à ce jour.
  • L'âge de Kenai n'est jamais indiqué dans les films, bien qu'il soit probablement âgé de 16 ans, puisque 12-16 ans est considéré comme l'âge de la virilité dans les tribus amérindiennes (cependant, les Inuits célèbrent leur majorité à 11-12 ans).
  • Depuis que Kenai a choisi de rester un ours en permanence à la fin du premier film, la seule fois qu'on a pu revoir sa forme humaine dans la suite, c'est quand il était petit garçon dans un flash-back près du début du film, quand il rencontre Nita pour la toute première fois.
  • Il devait y avoir à l'origine une fin alternative à Frère des Ours 2 où Kenai décide de retourner à sa forme humaine, mais a été remplacé par Nita qui est devenue une ourse à la place.


v - e - d
Brother-bear-5c9027c768c76
Médias
Frère des OursBande OriginaleJeuFrère des Ours 2
Parcs Disney
Redwood Creek Challenge Trail

Spectacles: Hakuna Matata Time Dance PartyRivers of Light: We Are One
Spectacles Pyrotechniques: Wonderful World of Animation

Personnage
KenaiKodaTruc et MucheDenahiSitkaNanakaGoliathMère de KodaBéliersMammouthsSaumon rougeNitaAtkaChilkootSiqiniq et TaqqiqAnda et KataInnokoChuntaLes grands esprits
Chansons
Les Grands EspritsTransformation • • Je m'en vaisBienvenueMon frère oursRegarde dans mes yeuxViens donc t'amuserComme seul au mondeTout près d'ici

Supprimées: Fishing Song

* DIVULGATION : Certains des liens ci-dessus sont des liens d'affiliation, ce qui signifie que, sans frais supplémentaires pour vous, Fandom percevra une commission si vous cliquez et effectuez un achat.Sauf mention contraire, le contenu de la communauté est disponible sous licence CC-BY-SA .

FANDOM


Kenai is the protagonist of Disney's 2003 animated feature film, Brother Bear and its 2006 sequel.

Background

Personality

Being the youngest of three brothers, Kenai was more childish and impulsive than Denahi and Sitka, displayed by the fact that he went instantly to hunt a bear even through he was unprepared for it, and when he was very angry for Denahi's mocking.

Originally, Kenai was very prejudging, seeing bears as thiefs and monsters even through he knew very little about them. This hate caused him to blame a bear for losing the fishes even through he himself forgot to tie up the net with the fish. Kenai's hate for bears reached its peak when Sitka died while fighting the bear, blaming the bear for the tragedy even through Sitka gave up his own life to save his brothers from what Kenai started, even going to successfully kill the bear only for revenge and hate.

Kenai also seemed to see manhod stereotypically as being a tough warrior, as he believed that he would get a totem of bravery or something similar, and was very disappointed when his totem turned out to be love. During his and Denahi's argument after Sitka's funeral, he claimed that a true man would't just let the bear live. Overtime, however, he came to embrace his totem.

After being transformed into a bear and being forced to travel with Koda, however, Kenai showed to be able to learn from his mistakes, as was his bond with Koda what made him learn that bears are not killers, and even came to see the young cub as a little brother. Additionally, his constants attacks by Denahi made him learn to see things through another's eyes, as he came to realize how bears feel when they are hunted. Kenai also showed to be remorseful, as he was devastated when he realized the bear he killed was Koda's mother, and was further saddened when Koda disowned him upon learning the truth. Kenai felt so remorseful for what he did that even came to see himself as the real monster for acting out of hate.

If there's one trait that remained in Kenai through his journey, was his love for his family, as he shared a close bond with his brothers, and was Sitka's death what led him to kill Koda's mother. This love also caused him to not to attack, and even try to save, Denahi when he attempted to kill Kenai. This trait was also depicted in his bond with Koda, as he slowly came to see him as his young brother. Once he finally found the mountain where the lights touch the earth, he showed reluctance in leaving Koda, and when he learned he killed Koda's mother, he was shamed engouch that he even ran away from the salmon run, and was devastated when Koda practically disowned hi once he learned the truth, and only becuase of this he choose to go to the mountain,as he felt there was no purpose in remaining a bear if Koda no longer loved him. Even there, he was devastated by Koda's disownment, even claiming that the only reason he went to the mountain was because he didn't knew what else to do. Ultimately, when Koda forgave him for what happened and when it became clear Koda needed him, Kenai purposely gave up his humanity to properly take care of Koda. This action was what finally made Kenai accomplish his life-long dream to become a man.

Appearances

Brother Bear

Kenai was a young Inuit who is the youngest of three brothers, after Sitka, his tribe's chief, and Denahi, and is on the verge of becoming a man. But after rushing to get his totem from Tanana, the tribe's shamaness, which depicts a bear, an animal that symbolizes love, and the one animal he hates believing that they are dangerous monsters, and forgetting to tie up his brothers' net so that the bears won't get their salmon, a bear attacks the tribe, and he and his brothers are forced to fight it off, but Sitka dies saving him and Denahi in the process. After getting into an argument with Denahi at Sitka's funeral, when he tells him Sitka sacrificed himself for them and does not blame the bear, resulting in Kenai throwing his bear totem in the cremation pyre where Sitka's remains (reduced to his shattered totem, broken spear, and tattered clothes, since the aftermath of a real fatal bear attack is too graphic to be shown in a kid's film) were cremated on, Kenai believes that the bear was responsible for Sitka's death, and decides to kill the animal at all costs, to avenge his brother. Kenai tries to convince Denahi that they should go after the bear, but Denahi refuses, claiming that he doesn't blame the bear for Sitka's death because Kenai provoked the bear's attack. Denahi advises Kenai against avenging Sitka's death, as it may anger the spirits, but a frustrated Kenai blows him off and sets out to kill the bear anyway.

Kenai succeeds in killing the bear, but for acting out of hate rather than out of love, as he had been commanded to do, the spirits turn Kenai himself into a bear as punishment for his actions. However, when Denahi arrives at the scene, since he had no idea that his brother was transformed into a bear, he falsely believes that the bear Kenai got transformed into "killed" Kenai and vowed revenge. As Denahi is about to kill Kenai, the bear is hit by lightning and is sent falling into a river, only to run into Tanana (who cannot understand bears' language) the next morning. Learning from Tanana, in order to become human again, Kenai had to travel to a mountain peak called, "the place where the (Northern) lights touch the earth." Along the way, however, Kenai meets an orphaned bear named Koda. At first, Kenai does not like the young bear's company, but eventually, he becomes attached to him. After escaping one of Denahi's (who still doesn't know that Kenai was turned into a bear) attempts to kill him by escaping inside a glacier, Koda tells Kenai that he was separated from his mother, and decides that Kenai should help him find her.

Kenai and Koda then befriend a pair of moose named Rutt and Tuke, and travel toward the mountains, but decide to ride on several woolly mammoths to get there faster. After getting off their mammoth, but leaving the moose behind, the two bears get into an argument ending with Koda abandoning Kenai and storming off alone, only to enter an abandoned village full of cave paintings showing bears being attacked by "monsters with sticks" (according to Koda). After getting directions from a pair of rams, Kenai and Koda try to work their way through a lava field while attempting to escape Denahi again, until the two bears arrive at a waterfall at the base of the mountain, where an entire troupe of bears are participating in a salmon run. After getting to know those bears more, Kenai realizes that he was wrong about them being monsters, and bears are really nice animals the whole time. The bear troupe welcome Kenai, and treat him as his new family, with Koda being his new younger brother, until it is time for them to tell stories to each other by passing a dead salmon to one another, and it is Koda's turn to tell a story. Koda tells a story about his mother fighting human hunters, making Kenai realize in horror that the bear he killed was Koda's mother.

Shocked and horrified, Kenai runs away, but Koda soon finds him. Kenai reveals the truth to Koda, who runs away, grief-stricken. Kenai sadly heads up the mountain alone to find Sitka, only to find Denahi, now furious, waiting for him. As Denahi was about to deliver the final blow on Kenai, Koda, after listening to the mooses' advice during another encounter with them, saves Kenai from death by taking Denahi's spear to distract Kenai so that he can run off and get Sitka to change him back, only to accidentally drop the spear, allowing Denahi to try and kill him instead. When Kenai finds out that Koda is now the one in danger, he jumps between the two, attempting to sacrifice himself the same way as Koda's mother did before he killed her, and as a result, Sitka (whose ghost resembles an eagle, who was watching them the whole time) declares Kenai's bravery and act of brotherhood, and saves Kenai by turning him into a human again.

However, since Koda no longer has his mother (whose ghost arrives so that her son can say goodbye to her) with him, Kenai chooses to remain a bear permanently and stay in the woods and live with Koda, who needed him more than any of his own people. For this act of love, Kenai was declared to have become a man.

Brother Bear 2

In Brother Bear 2, Kenai awakens from his first hibernation to find that spring has arrived (Kenai separated from Denahi, Tanana, and his villagers to care for Koda, but may still visit them offscreen). Even with snow on the ground and the trees still bare, love is decidedly in the air. Kenai and Koda scoff at the notion of romance, but Tug (the large, dark brown bear from the first film) cautions them (Kenai in particular) that "You can't run from love. It has a way of tracking you down." Kenai laughs, but later has a dream about Nita, a girl he used to know when he was young and a human. During the dream, Kenai saves Nita after she falls into water, Kenai gives her his amulet to remember him by before they paint a picture of themselves on a cave wall. After Nita has move home with her tribe,

Meanwhile, in her own village, Nita is preparing for her wedding to a man named Atka. But when the big moment arrives, the ceremony was interrupted by the great spirits. The earthquake destroyed everything in its path, it is revealed that Nita cannot marry Atka. The reason for this is because Kenai gave Nita his amulet. What neither Kenai nor Nita realized was that the amulet bonded them as one. The only way for Nita to marry Atka is to go with Kenai to Hokani Falls, where he first gave her the amulet, and burn it.

Nita finds Kenai and manages to convince him to help her. But during the course of their three-day journey, their old friendship sprouts anew and flourishes. When Nita asks Kenai if he misses being human, he says yes. This causes Koda to run away up a mountain, thinking Kenai will leave him. A worried Kenai and Nita look for Koda as a snowstorm hits.  They initially have no luck and Kenai keeps going, not noticing that Nita is stopping. Nita finds Koda, but an avalanche starts and as Nita screams, Kenai turns around and sees the snow heading right for them. The two are pushed down the mountain and soon get buried by the raging snow. Kenai rushes to save them and tells Koda he'll never leave him. Despite the fact that both are developing feelings for one another, Kenai and Nita burn the amulet and Nita returns to her village, only to find that where the amulet kept her from marrying Atka before, now her heart will not let her marry him either.

When Kenai wakes up the next morning, his moose friends inform him that Koda has gone to Nita's village to get her back. Kenai races to the village, knowing Koda will be killed. Back at the village, the villagers spot Koda and chase him up a tree. Then, Kenai races over to the rescue, grabs Koda, and flees. Nita hears the commotion outside and runs out of her tent. She is horrified when Atka goes after Kenai and Koda. She then chases after them to try to stop Atka. Atka chased Kenai into the mountains. Kenai hides Koda and runs off to distract the hunters. Atka finds Kenai and corners him on a cliff. They fight and Kenai is about to kill Atka when Nita runs over and yells at him to stop, but it's too late. Kenai lets Atka go and while he is distracted, Atka throws some embers in his face and kicks him off the cliff.

Atka wins and Nita cries out in dismay (because Kenai lost), pushes Atka out of the way and climbs down the rocks to help Kenai. Kenai is alive, though he failed to defeat Atka, and tells Nita he loves her and she tells him the same. The spirits come down and Nita is able to understand the bears again. Koda tells Kenai that he asked the spirits to change him back into a man so he could be happy. Kenai tells Nita that he cannot -- as he cannot leave Koda, but she says she can. So, Nita is turned into a bear that has the same coloring as Kenai, and they get married.

The Sprits then alter the cave painting of Kenai and Nita from children into bear cubs, due to both now being bears.

Other appearances

In Ralph Breaks the Internet, a screenshot depicting Kenai and Koda can be seen on a banner in the background of Oh My Disney.

Disney Parks

Kenai WDW

Kenai at Disney's Animal Kingdom.

Kenai appears as a walkaround character in his bear form at Disney's Animal Kingdom, though formerly appeared at Epcot and having a major place in Disney California Adventure.

At California Adventure, Kenai appeared as part of the Magic of Brother Bear theme at Redwood Creek Challenge Trail, appearing in a totem ceremony show, a wood-carved sculpture at the entrance to the area and the namesake of Kenai's Spirit Cave, where guests are able to find their animal totem by placing their hand on glowing pawprints. In the summer of 2011, the Brother Bear theming would be removed and replaced with an Up theme inspired by the Wilderness Explorers. Though Kenai and Koda no longer appear in the area, the Spirit Cave was mostly untouched with the exception of signs removing Kenai's name.

Gallery

Wiki
The Disney Wiki has a collection of images and media related to Kenai.

Trivia

  • The scene where Kenai tells Rutt and Tuke "I'm not a beaver, I'm a bea–I mean, I'm not a bear, I'm a man!" after they call him a beaver after seeing him being turned into a bear by Sitka's ghost could be a reference to a scene in The Sword in the Stone where Arthur (Wart) and Merlin are turned into squirrels by Merlin's magic, and Merlin tells the Old Lady Squirrel, "I'm not a boy, I'm a squir-I mean, I'm not a squirrel, I'm a boy!" after she falls in love with his squirrel form.
  • Joaquin Phoenix did not reprise his role as Kenai for the sequel due to scheduling conflicts. Patrick Dempsey replaced him. Both Phoenix and Dempsey share Kenai as their only voice acting role to date.
  • Kenai's age is never stated in the films, though he is most likely aged 16, as 12-16 is considered the age of manhood in First Nation tribes (However Inuits celebrate coming of age at age 11-12).
  • Since Kenai chose to remain a bear permanently at the end of the first film, the only time we ever get to see his human form again in the sequel was him as a little boy in a flashback near the start of the film, when he meets Nita for the very first time.
  • There was originally going to be an alternate ending of Brother Bear 2 where Kenai decides to return to his human form, but was replaced with Nita becoming a bear instead.


v - e - d
Brother-bear-logo
Media
Brother BearSoundtrackVideo gameVideographyBrother Bear 2

Books: Little Golden BookDisney's Wonderful World of ReadingDisney Read-Along

Disney Parks
Redwood Creek Challenge Trail

Entertainment: Hakuna Matata Time Dance PartyRivers of Light: We Are One
Firework: Wonderful World of Animation

Characters
KenaiKodaRutt and TukeDenahiSitkaTananaTugKoda's motherThe RamsMammothsSockeye SalmonNitaAtkaChilkootSiqiniq and TaqqiqAnda and KataInnokoBeringThe Great SpiritsMuri
Songs
Great SpiritsTransformationOn My WayWelcomeNo Way OutLook Through My EyesWelcome to This DayFeels Like HomeIt Will Be Me

Deleted: Fishing Song

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Stream the best stories.

Fandom may earn an affiliate commission on sales made from links on this page.

Get Disney+